Hope is not a Plan

I can live without anything; except hope and dreams. Put me on a desert island and I will spend my time finding a way to hope for survival and a way to make it back to my loved ones. Pintstein is my way of hoping that I still have something to give back to the Scientific Community. My time in graduate school was a grueling experience where I did course work 20 hours a week, researched fruit fly egg laying choices for 20+ hours a week, taught and prepared anatomy labs for 20 hours a week while earning $18,00 a year. Eventually I lost all hope that I could successfully complete a PhD with Aimee Dunlap as my advisor. Most PhD students in that situation change academic advisors but the criticisms that I was receiving from my advisors left me feeling worthless. It took me 2 years to get accepted into a graduate school and maybe that is because most of the people I applied to could see that I was not well read enough to make it in the publish or perish environment of science.

ChurchillWinstonNow I have a great job working in a Pacemaker Battery Factory for $27,000 a year. HR says that my labor saves an average of 8 lives a day and I am a leader to the 2nd shift Bradycardia Production team using my STEM knowledge to keep our equipment operating reliably. Additionally, working only 40 hours a week leaves me energy for my startup company. I can survive like this for the rest of my life if I have to. So I have hope for the future.

I started Pintstein to make Bioinformatics Kits (specialized organic chemistry kits for decoding the language of life). 3D printing has been a great way to make functional prototypes but the marketable product is going to need to be made with injection molding. I have done a lot of networking to learn how to make molds with CNC machines or how to contract the production of my Bioinformatics Kits with injection molding from a company like Protolabs.  I don’t feel like the networking I have done has gotten me any closer to a plan forward.  Tom Hazard says, hope is not a plan but I wonder, is tenacity a plan? I start my 3D printing classes by telling people that I am self-taught and as such, I am not an expert yet but I still feel that I have acquired a low budget super power. If I want something badly enough, I can make it. It might take a lot of time and be made out of cheap plastic but I can make my dreams into physical objects.  I want my Bioinformatics Kits badly enough that I will eventually bring them to market. It might take a ridiculous amount of time, it might never turn a profit but I will do it. Entrepaneurship is a form of artistic self-expression just as much as writing a novel or composing a symphony. Working on Pintstein gives me hope. Working on Pintstein is my therapy.

Screen Shot 2016-06-20 at 12.47.48 AMIf you would like to see my Bioinformatics Kits contact me and schedule a private meeting. I am not publicly disclosing my designs until I have filed a provisional patent or until I am 99% certain that I will not patent my Bioinformatics Kits but private meetings do not hurt my ability to patent my designs.  I want to build a list of interested parties who might support a kickstarter campaign to fund the “tooling” necessary to make my Bioinformatics Kits with injection molding.

One thought on “Hope is not a Plan

Leave a Reply

